Board & Committee Members

Steering Committee:

  • Douglas Harwood, Chair
  • Milton Carrasco, Co-Chair
  • Dr. Tarek Sayed
  • Paul W Dorothy, Technical Program Director
  • Patrick Hasson, Country Reports Coordinator
  • Tracy Borchardt
  • Salvatore D. Cafiso
  • Rich Coakley
  • Richard Cunard
  • Karen Dixon
  • Jim Gattis 
  •  David Gilmore
  •  Keith Knapp
  • Ray Krammes


  • David McDonald
  • Christopher Poe
  •  Ingrid Potts
  •  Basil Psarianos
  • Brian Ray
  • Larry Shannon
  • John Smart
  • Gerald Sudimick
  • Mark Taylor


Local Organizing Committee

Dr. Tarek Sayed is a Professor and a Distinguished University Scholar at the University of British Columbia. He has a number of prestigious awards including the appointment as a UBC Distinguished University Scholar, the Institute of Transportation Engineers (ITE) Wilbur Smith Distinguished Transportation Educator Award, and the Canadian Society of Civil Engineering Sandford Fleming Award, the Transportation Association of Canada Academic Award, the Transportation Association of Canada Gilchrist Medal and several best paper awards. He also serves on several international committees including the Transportation Research Board (TRB) safety data and analysis Committee, the TRB future directions for road safety subcommittee, the TRB Pedestrian Committee and the Canadian National Road Safety Committee. 

Milton Carrasco, P.Eng. M.Eng. is the President and CEO of Transoft Solution Inc., a global software company that specializes in the development of transportation engineering software.  In 2005, Milton received the Award of Achievement from the Transportation Association of Canada (TAC) for the “significant and enduring benefit” that AutoTURN has contributed to the transportation engineering profession.  Milton has been an active member of the Geometric Design Sub-committees at both TAC and TRB, and continues to actively attend these sub-committee meetings.

Donald Henderson is the Senior Transportation Engineer with DMH Transportation Engineer Inc. and has been practising transportation engineering for over 35 years. His expertise includes traffic engineering, traffic signal systems, project management, and traffic safety, neighbourhood issues such as traffic calming, cycling, transit planning, and standards development.  He is also widely known for his participation with the Institute of Transportation Engineers as the Canadian President and as an International Director. Further, Don was the Chairman of the National Committee on Uniform Traffic Control and was responsible for the preparation of the 4th Edition of the Canadian Manual of Uniform Traffic Control Devices.